“The Day”

Casey’s Blog:

Well November sure started with a bang! Gusts to 60 knots and a buoy reading of almost 14 ft. waves, resulting in 30ft monsters on Da Reef, sure made for an adrenaline filled day that nobody is going to forget for a while. Remember this is a Lake I am talking about here!.

I was overpowered on my XS chopper (3.4 ish) for a bit and Steve was out on a 2.5m kite! (now that’s crazy!).  There was even one Wave that gave me a super rare “shit my pants moment.”  This beast broke right in front of me at the top of the 2nd reef. It was breaking top to bottom 30ft and had a Lip the size of a Mac Truck!  I saw that, turned down wind and ran like a scared cat. It’s not too often that happens to me! Damn!

Luckily, towards the end of the day, the wind backed off and the waves got super smooth and everybody scored some of the monster super long wave rides which Da Reef is famous for. Too bad there wasn’t a couple more hours of daylight because the wind kept turning and the Side Off conditions would have been “All worldly Epic”.  Here are a couple of Go Pro shots that I took for the day.  I wish I had more, but as usual its impossible to get any good shots unless you have a helicopter.

Hitting a Monster Back Loop over Dave Z.  "Priceless"
Hitting a Monster Back Loop over Dave Z.
“Priceless”
somebody getting a ride. (in background)
somebody getting a ride.
(in background)
I love Da Back Loop!
I love Da Back Loop!
Me and Pete.
Me and Pete.
The tip of my mast heading out to "Da Reef"
The tip of my mast heading out to “Da Reef”
2 thoughts on ““The Day””

Leave a Reply

