Review:2015 Naish Force 3. Three batten Wave Sail

Casey’s Blog:

Its been a long time since I did a gear review, but I got a couple of new toys and a little time, so enjoy.
Ok I have gotten some days on the water with the new 2015 Force 3 5.0 meter and I have to say its better then I thought it was going to be. (still not even close to Chopper performance, but nice sail for what its designed for). Its has nice even pull in between the hands, maybe with a hint of pull towards forward. When sailing in Side off Down the Line conditions It would basically drive you up towards the Lip all by itself for big hits. Another thing I liked about the sail is it felt very very light, tight and maneuverable in the hands and during transitions(that part very chopper like) Second thing I liked about it, was the High cut of the sail, its basically a straight line from mast foot to the boom end. You really could lay down and lean into the pocket of the wave like never before. I found even thou the sail had good amount of pull, it didn’t have much power to get you going. It would really be better for lighter riders. And of course with just 3 batten its get to be a handful when the big gust hit, it just doesn’t have a big range. So its not very good for On shore/B&J conditions.

My conclusion:
If I sailed Hookipa everyday, or Side Off wave conditions like that, I think I would choose this sail.
It might work for very lightweights in more conditions. (hard to beat Naish Session thou)
I think it would be a great sail for Beginners cause its so light weight with a nice even pull.
But overall its a purebred DTL Hardcore Wavesail.

(Long live the Chopper)Hehehe

Leave a Reply

