collage 5 sports 4

5 Water/Wind sports in one day!

Casey’s Blog:

5 sports one day 

I have been scoring soo many great sessions on Da reef this year I think my brain is officially getting water logged. I got this crazy idea a few years ago after seeing Kai Lenny’s video of him doing 4 water/wind sports in one day. Which made me laugh, because I have been doing that when Kai Lenny was in diapers. But since I don’t have huge sponsorships, red bull, and expensive film crews following me around in tropical paradises, it most likely goes unnoticed. No drama I am always up to the challenge of raising the bar, so 5 water/wind sports in one day had to be done. Standup paddle surf, Windsurf, Kitesurf, Hobie 16 sail, and Longboard surf was in the order it got done.

 The hardest part was getting the stars to align, and get the perfect weather day on Da reef and myself not to be at work, which never happens. Well last funday Sunday was the day. It took 12 hours on the water plus some rigging time along with 20GB/10000 pics on the gopro, but I pulled it off.  5 super fun water/wind sports sessions in one day.  Dang that was super fun and there is no better feeling then actually accomplishing a very hard personal challenge. I couldn’t tell you which session was the best, all of them were super fun. Maybe the Hobiecat 16 tops them all that day, probably because it’s been so long since I was maxed out and flying a hull that seemed like forever. I had to be my own film crew so my gopro session got a work out. It was pretty cool, I ended up using 5 different kinds of sport specific mounts to cover the action and get a great shot of each. I really had to use all the toys to pull this day off.

Hmmm I wonder what crazy idea is going to pop in my head next?

3 thoughts on “5 Water/Wind sports in one day!”

  1. You sure are a cool water dude and setting a great example ! Now you can still add foil SUP , so you don’t get bored ! Keep it going !

  2. next time try the old school back to roots marathon!
    Hobie 12
    balsa wood long board (surf and sup)
    original windsurfer
    and just fly a kite!
    It was a fun day for all, glad I got to chase you around on the hobie.

Leave a Reply

